Mono Lake, Ca

Mono Lake is one of my favorite places to go when I need to recharge my batteries or reset my life.
The lake has a spiritual aura that automatically lets me relax and go into a retrospective mode. It seems to say, “you can let go now”.
There is a clarity that I associate with the Mono Lake. The place is simply beautiful…its essence won’t be captured in words or pictures.
It brings good memories of time well spent. Fun time. I swam in it, kayaked on it, hiked next to it….just hanging out. I still have to find Mono Lake hot springs, its location jealously guarded by the park rangers.
Mono Lake is old. The lake itself is around 1 million years old…one of the oldest body of water in western hemisphere but really it is older than that. Its salt is a remnant of forgotten times when fish was king and dinosaurs were nowhere to be seen….circa Paleozoic era (think 290 million years ago).
Mono Lake also is a hot topic of almost science fiction proportions. A new kind of bacterium was discovered in Mono Lake. It lives off arsenic granting Mono Lake status of “home to a form of life biologically distinct from all other known life on Earth”.
Read more about here.
Anyway, Mono Lake is my kind of place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Mono Lake, Ca

  1. I love how you wrote what it makes you feel like, I also liked how the pictures changed; they made you grasp and hold as much of the image as you could before it changed.

Leave a Reply

