Cave

What difference is there, do you think, between those in Plato’s cave who can only marvel at the shadows and images of various objects, provided they are content and don’t know what they miss, and the philosopher who has emerged from the cave and sees the real things?
-Desiderius Erasmus

Well, I don’t know…

7 responses to “Cave

  1. My Mom has been taking Catechism classes recently and brought up Plato’s mention of this to me. I have been taking a class called philosophical borderlands between science and religion and we have been discussing axiomatic truth so this has generated a discussion between Mom and I about fiding God. (Mom spent 30 years as a Baptist, so going catholic is a big deal and I left the Christian church 20 years ago and only left paganism ten eyars ago for agnosticism.) Your post today touches on that. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment