window

from dreammoods.com

According to Jung, dreams are a way of communicating and acquainting yourself with the unconscious. Dreams are not attempts to conceal your true feelings from the waking mind, but rather they are a window to your unconscious. They serve to guide the waking self to achieve wholeness and offer a solution to a problem you are facing in your waking life. Jung views the ego as your sense of self and how you portray yourself to the world. Part of Jung’s theory is that all things can be viewed as paired opposites: good/evil, male/female, or love/hate. So working in opposition to the ego, is the “counterego” or what he refers to as the shadow.

16 responses to “window

  1. That’s interesting. I’ve always seen shadows and reflections as a sort of waking dream. Sort of like experiencing the subconscious/unconscious world from a waking state of existence.
    Great photos and processing. Really love your work.

  2. Beautiful images Barbara. I like them all but the 2nd one with the shadow in the window creates such a fleeting feeling. A sense of wonder and lost. The processing is so subtle and mono-toned it increases the ambiguity in each piece.

  3. Your lighting is wonderful-that erie quality that suggests immanence of the transcendent. Your consistency is phenomenal.

  4. I loved this post. Dreams, nightmares and even night terrors are a big part of my life. They have had a strong influence on my daily existence.
    I have always viewed them as an alternate dimensional part of my life. They have shaped much of who I am.

  5. I’m currently reading Jung’s work, Memories, Dreams, Reflections (original German title Erinnerungen Träume Gedanken)….I have a deep interest in dreams and the capabilities they have to reveal the subtleties of the unconscious. Even more, my interest lies in Jung’s theories regarding the collective unconscious. have you read much regarding his ideas surrounding anima and animus?

    • In general, I am interested in symbols and the unconscious. I haven’t read Jung at depth but I am familiar with his views more or less…probably less is more accurate. Thanks for the suggestion…I will check it out.

  6. Wow. The first and third ones really got me. What a fantastic take on the top of a radiator. The colors are wonderful. Of course, the whole concept is beautifully crafted here.

Leave a Reply

