Asylum

What ails it, intrinsically, is a dearth of intellectual audacity and of aesthetic passion. Running through it, and characterizing the work of almost every man and woman producing it, there is an unescapable suggestion of the old Puritan suspicion of the fine arts as such—of the doctrine that they offer fit asylum for good citizens only when some ulterior and superior purpose is carried into them.
-H.L. Mencken

17 responses to “Asylum

  1. Jeff said it perfect. The word, to me, suggested hideous captivity. Why would that be when it is in fact “sanctuary”, correct?
    Your work is inspiring. Each blog tells a story; like a painting – it is my story.
    Please do not stop. I am a big fan. Susen

  2. Hi Barbara, I wanted you to know that you are the Artist of the Day on my blog:

    http://destructivetesting.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/artist-of-the-day-barbaraelka/

    Please let me know if you would like me to add or change anything.

    The main purpose of the blog is to share the ‘Artistic Process’. What and where artists do what they do to create their art.

    I’d appreciate it if you would consider sending me some photos for my ‘Work Spaces’ and/or ‘Making It’ categories.

    Please send any photos to mfsmith46@gmail.com.

    And, of course, I’d like you to share this with anyone who might be interested.

    I have received messages like the following:
    Darcy commented on Artist of the Day / Sandy Martinez
    “Thanks for allowing us to know a bit more about the artist.”

    thanks, Mike

Leave a Reply

