Frederic Edwin Church’s OLANA

Almost an hour south of Albany is the Center of the World—I own it.
– F. Church.

Frederic Edwin Church’s house is located on top of the hill overlooking the Hudson River valley and the Catskill Mountains.
The house, now a museum stopped in time, is bathed in radiance. I have never seen anything like this. The place is literally immersed in light and melts with the surrounding beauty perfectly.
One experiences Church’s interpretation of light immediately. No way I could ever capture what I saw so I am supplementing this post with Church’s “light” work. If you can, go visit the house at the sunset, sunrise hours and wish for a show because nature delivers that at Olana. Church will be happy.

Above the Clouds at Sunrise by Frederick Church

Cotopaxi by Frederick Church

22 responses to “Frederic Edwin Church’s OLANA

    • Olana charmed me completely. Where did you live in the Houston Valley? I could see myself there for a while at least…which town would recommend? I have a fourteen year old artistically inclined daughter. Also, thank you for your kind words.

      • I lived about an 1-1/2 hours north of NYC in New Paltz to study art at the college there, but found the economy difficult to find work. But the most beautiful of all places along the Hudson River are found along Duchess County – quaint towns like Rhinebeck, Hyde Park etc. Still, almost anywhere in Hudson Valley you’ll find the same beauty as you saw at Olana.

        • Thank you. I will try to explore Duchess County. I like the name but who wouldn’t?
          I am new to NY and exploring my option where to go and what to see in the state. Moon guides are fine but I love to hear it from real persons…

Leave a Reply

