48 responses to “Benz

  1. Beautiful photos of a great car. It’s sad to see it rotting away. In 1975, I bought a Mercedes 190 (similar to this one but smaller) here is Wis for $400. It was wonderful. Leather interior. Real wood dash. Steering like a sports car. My girlfriend and I took it for a trip to Quebec. Months later I saw the guy I bought it from, and told him where we had gone it the car. He blurted out “You went where?!” Sure enough, a few months later the transmission fell out, and I had to get rid of it. Still, it was one of the greatest cars I’ve ever had.

    Mike

    • Mike, this is such great story. I love road trips… Just love them.
      As the matter of fact, I am starting to see my life as one big road trip… Destination here after…

      Now all that said and done… Would know what year more or less is this Benz?
      I have no idea whatsoever …

      • OK, One of you guys is going to have to explain it to me. This is what I came up with.

        Ozymandias ( /ˌɒziˈmændiəs/ oz-ee-man-dee-əs) (real name Adrian Veidt) is a fictional character in the acclaimed comic book miniseries Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons, published by DC Comics. Named Ozymandias in the manner of Ramesses II, he is a modified version of the comic book character Thunderbolt from Charlton Comics. His name recalls the famous poem by Percy Bysshe Shelley, which takes as its theme the fleeting nature of empire.

        Mike

          • The crumbling statue in the desert. A Shelly sonnet. A metaphor for the decline of all things man made … empires to the Benz. Lovely poem that I memorized in high school and never stopped reciting in my 70-yr-old head.

            I met a traveller from an antique land
            Who said: “Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
            Stand in the desert. Near them on the sand,
            Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown
            And wrinkled lip and sneer of cold command
            Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
            Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
            The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed.
            And on the pedestal these words appear:
            `My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings:
            Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!’
            Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
            Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
            The lone and level sands stretch far away”.

  2. OMG!!!!!
    I am soooooo flippin’ jealous that you got these shots.
    Needless to say – they are F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    🙂
    🙂
    🙂

  3. Love finding old cars, trucks, tractors, etc. in a field knowing that the better days of transporting their people is behind them. If only those vehicles could talk!

    Excellent photos Barbara!

  4. liked the composition and the BW processing. where is that in CA? do you have the address or any hint because definitely I will go there spend hours shooting this lovely vintage car. thanks for sharing

  5. Thank you, Barbara, for visiting Gwichyaa Zhee. I am very grateful for the attention. And I love the old Benz. Never could afford one, but always admired them, and this one is a real looker! This is a cool site.

Leave a Reply

